Student Teaching & Internships

  • Jefferson County Board of Education has cooperation agreements/contracts with various colleges and universities within the state of Alabama.  These agreements provide a framework of cooperation between Jefferson County Board of Education and the institution.

    We will only allow interns or student teachers placed in our schools from these institutions provided that an appropriate agreement has been approved:

    • Alabama State University
    • Athens State College
    • Auburn University
    • Jacksonville State University
    • Miles College
    • Samford University
    • Troy University
    • University Alabama at Birmingham
    • University of Montevallo
    • University of West Alabama
    • Alabama A&M University
    • Birmingham Southern College
    • Judson College
    • University of South Alabama

    If you represent an accredited Alabama institution that is interested in forming a partnership with our district, please contact Human Resources at (205) 379-2267.

    We do NOT allow interns or student teachers from online programs not affiliated with colleges and universities in the state of Alabama and who do not have cooperation agreements with Jefferson County Board of Education.

    For more information on student teaching, please contact Mr. Jai Hill at 205-379-2267 or at